Car & Auto Insurance
We're here to help you get the protection you need
In South Carolina, state law requires all drivers to be financially responsible for any damage caused by their cars. Purchasing liability insurance is the most common way to comply with this law. In addition, state law requires you to keep proof of insurance with you at all times and show it to law enforcement officers if they ask to see it. As an alternative, some drivers may qualify to pay a $550 annual fee to drive without insurance (subject to certain requirements). This fee does not cover your costs if you have an accident; it simply means you can legally drive a car without insurance. If an accident is your fault, you are still responsible for the injuries or damages you cause.
What Auto Insurance Coverages Are Required in SC?
Liability and Uninsured Motorist coverages at minimum limits of $25,000/$50,000/$25,000 are required by law.
Liability coverage pays for damage to other people and their property.
Uninsured Motorist coverage protects you if you have an accident with an at-fault uninsured driver.
We are here for you!
Contact us today to find out what other optional coverages are available to protect you at 888-288-8713 (or 843-249-6317).If you are looking for cheap car insurance in Myrtle Beach, Charleston, Spartanburg, or Greenville SC auto insurance coverage, let us show you how inexpensive it can be to get good coverage and excellent service. We carry all South Carolina insurance.
Frequently asked questions about SC & NC car insurance
You'll find our growing list of our most popular questions about insuring your car and auto.
I work for a agency that assists youth ages 16 to 21 with education and employment. My supervisor has made statements that if the kids can't get to our office we will have to go get them and bring them in. Can my employer require me to transport clients in my personal vehicle? What is my liability if I am in an accident? Can I lose my insurance Coverage? Can I be sued civily? My employer only reimburses .40 cents per mile when I travel.
In general, coverage usually follows the vehicle, not the driver. Meaning, if you are in your car, your insurance would be the one paying if you were in an accident. Your employer might have "employee non-owned" insurance on his commercial policy that would pay in the situation that you described but it is really there to protect him should he be sued. I would recommend calling your agent and letting him / her advise you. ~ Scott
Does my auto insurance cover rental trailers, such as UHAUL, if I have an accident while pulling it?
Generally, most companies DO cover anything you are pulling behind your vehicle for LIABILITY - but NOT for physical damage to the actual thing you are pulling. Example: If the trailer you are pulling does damage to someone's property, the damage to the property will be covered but not the damage to the trailer. You can add a specific trailer and have it covered for theft and physical damage for an extra premium. ~ Scott.
Is it true that if a stone cracks my windshield, my insurance will pay to replace it without applying a deductible?
If you have Comprehensive Insurance coverage on your car, and it is insured in South Carolina or North Carolina, it will be covered without a deductible. It may work differently in other states, however. Check with your agent if you live outside of NC or SC. ~ Scott